SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Day everyone, I have been using Amsoil and Filters for past 2 years, my mechanic loves this oil and says my Car can get 20,000 to 25,000 miles before I need to change it. So far I've had no issues, but can anybody attest for this claim and should I continue using this oil and length of time before changing it. I went 20,000 before changing My oil and filter a few months ago, but I'm concern is this a good idea for my engine in the long run? Is this oil really as good as he says? I presently have 119,000 miles on my car.

Thanks
Martin

·
Super Moderator
9,815 Posts
I would personally never do that, having been scarred by the purchase of a vehicle where the previous owner waited too long between intervals and stretched the timing chains. Most of us here shoot for 5,000 mile intervals using Mobil1 or Castrol Edge. But to each his own.

·
Registered
8,981 Posts
I rely on the oil life monitor, which usually ends up being 5k-6k. 25k might be ok, but with a sump as small as the B207s plus turbo I would never be the one to run that experiment - the price for failure is too high. Oil life monitor + Mobil/Edge (or sometimes Lubro or Motul) is my jam.

·
Super Moderator
9,815 Posts
The oil life monitor is what killed the timing chains on my 9-4X Aero. Algorithm is waaaaaay too long.

·
Super Moderator
9,684 Posts
20k on oil is far to long..imo especially if there are short trips,the oil doesn't get hot enough to burn off the combustion contaminates..

·
Registered
566 Posts