SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guy`s,
I am just visiting from the 900 forum,and i am looking for some HONEST advice.I have just sold my 900t coupe and i am looking for a new toy. Here are the choices BMW 325i COUPE,MERC 230 CLK a 9/3 AERO (old shape) or a 9/5 AREO ESTATE.All are comming in at the same price, around 12k,but the saab is around two years newer and from a franchised dealer.I know the failings of the 9/3 but as i am new to the 9/5 and would be pleased if i could gain as much info on the 9/5 as possible before i spend my hard earned cash.

Many thanks,
Kenny.

Some factors to consider 1- 40 year old family man with 2 kids(insurance ok)
2- I only drive 10-15 miles a day(mpg no problem)
3- About to start a renovation of an old house.

·
Registered
22,211 Posts
What a facinating choice, how come coupes, hatches and a wagon are all on the agenda? :confused:

·
Registered
2,534 Posts
How much practicality do you want?

If the 9-5 Aero is a post MY02.5 upgrade car, then I'd definately go for this.

The 9-3 Aero if it's one of the last MY02 cars, which it would be for that price, would be a second choice.

Merc would be a third choice, only if it was well specced, but it'll feel like a slug, performance wise, compared to either of the 2 Saabs........

BMW.....:nono;

G

·
As Chris said funny mixed list :eek: In order 9-5 aero estate, 9-3, merc. :)

9-3 alot like 9-5 in many ways. Prone to DI failure, no real biggy. Major sludging issues on older models. Not to bad if you can get full saab service. Check PCV pipes for squidgyness as an indication to the possibility of sludge..

·
Registered
86 Posts
the only advice i would give is always pay that little bit more and buy from a saab dealer,bmw dealer or a merc dealer.speaking through experience i would never buy a car again unless it is from a dealer:nono; but at the end of the day the choice is yours good luck in what ever car you do pick:lol:

·