SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey guys so im new to saab. got my first saabie today and im confussed as hell lol.
carfax with vin number said
1999 9-3 SE 2.0 turbo same a tittle
BUUT
the car has 98's and down (900s) looks! (front bumper, rear bumper + long trunk tailight and stuff) oh yeah and add a 2.3 batch in the lower
so i bought a 99 9-3 2.3 turbo with a 98 body.?? is that possible ??:eek:
... did they ever put 2.3 s on ?? if someone can explain me what is sitting outside my house i would apreciate it lol . cheers!!
this is from saab decoder
Manufacturer: Saab Automobile AB
Product line: SAAB 9-3
Body type: 2-door Convertible (CV)
Gear box: 4-Speed Automatic
Engine type: B204L - 2.0L turbo with intercooler
Model year: 1999
Assembly plant: Nystad, Finland
Serial number: 052893
Control symbol: Passed
SRS: Dual Airbags, 9-3SE
pics added:

·
Registered
1,918 Posts
Did you match the dashboard vin with the door jamb or frame tags? (I assume this car has multiple vin locations like other cars?)

·
Registered
2,176 Posts
OK, by VIN number, it is a 99 9-3 2.0 FPT. but cosmetically, it appears to be a 900.

So, first thing, what's it look like under the hood? Is there a turbo at the exit to the exhaust manifold?

Is there a distributor sticking out from the back of the cylinder head?

Is the filler in the center of the valve cover blank and covering spark plug wires or is it embossed with "Direct Ignition"?

Does the steering wheel have 3 spokes, or 4? Radio controls on the steering wheel on not?

Two latches to release the top, or one in the center?

Analog clock above the radio, or digital?

Do all the VIN numbers match? There should be VIN number's applied to all the major body panels along with the one displayed through the windshield and when you open the drivers door.

A couple possibilities come to mind.