SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm preparing to weld patches to fix the holes in the floor, and I see these circular rubber plugs. There is surface rust around the plugs, and I'm thinking of removing the plugs and welding over them. Does that sound like a good idea? This is my first time welding. I'm guessing the plugs had some purpose at the factory, perhaps to drain some type of chemical liquid. There are plugs in the rear floor as well.

I'm planning to weld the patches, wire brush the floors to bare metal, then use the Por-15 products to paint the floors.

The floor near the central tunnel has quite a bit of pitting. I'd rather not cut too much out if I don't have to, especially since that hole is about the size of a quarter. But maybe the metal is so thin that I have no other option but to cut a couple square feet out. What do you think?

Attachments

·
Registered
46 Posts
Just a small disclosure - I'm not a pro, I'm pretty much a shadetree hack - this is just what I've learned about rust over the years by restoring several rusty old cars from the snow and salt belt with my dad.

I'm preparing to weld on my Saab as well, in the trunk area. Here's my plan: I'm leaving the rubber plugs in - usually they are there for rain water or the snow and other crap you drag in on your feet. If you look at replacement floor pans from other cars (Mustangs, Camaros, etc.), these holes are always retained and they sell replacement rubber plugs. FWIW, I plan to practice a bit on thin sheet metal (MIG + gas) so I can minimize the risk of blow through when I actually go to weld - I expect the metal to be very thin around the rusted areas on my car. I have not welded on a car in 10y, so it's like starting from scratch, but I do remember the surrounding areas are very tough because they are often quite thin.