SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Friends.

I am new to Saab and I thought I would try to get the 411 on what my experience would/should/could be like in the coming years. So feel free to add your 2 cents.

I am 24. Just moved out to L.A. from Chicago. This is my first Saab. The only other car I have owned was a 97 Chevy Blazer. I loved it. I just got a new 2008, 93 2.0 I am about 300 miles in and so far so good. I plan on filling up with mid grade. Getting that oil changed every 3k and getting her washed every few weeks.

Some random questions I have.
Anything I should worry about driving in L.A. besides traffic? In Chicago it was salt and pot holes.

There is a faint whine when I start my car. Almost like it is powering up. Should I worry?

Should I use any certain oil?

What matience should I keep in mind over these first few months?

Anything else you can all add would be super. Thanks in advance.:lol:

·
Registered
12,509 Posts
Most of us use at least 90/91 Octane in thee 2.0T. Although there are a few options, Mobil 1 fully Synth is the Oil of the majority. Maintainence, You might just bring it in to a dealer for a checkup after a few K. Then all the normal stuff.

As for driving in L.A....just keep the CHP's with the lights on out of your mirrors.;)

·
Registered
3,092 Posts
Congrats on your purchase and welcome to saabcentral. Now you need to get some pics up before we start answering your questions!!:D

·
Registered
824 Posts
Mobil 1 0w-40, and change it when your oil life monitor tells you to change it, not every 3k. There are better things to spend money on in L.A. than an expensive oil change every 2-3 months.

·
Registered
759 Posts
Faint whine is normal.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Congratulations. You should get free maintanance for 3 years / 36 K.