SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I am completely new to Saabs but have always admired their styling and drove a 97 900 for a week back in the mid 90, and just became a happy owner of a 98 900SE Turbo.
I love everything about her but there are some issues that I would like to resolve so I thought I’d ask for expert advice here.
The pre-sale check up revealed:
-used front brakes and rotors,
-worn water pump,
-broken side transmission mount and a hole in the central muffler. I already passed the smog so the hole is the least of my worries. I hope to tackle the brakes. Are there any issues I need to be aware of before I start this ? How difficult is the water pump/trans mount job for a newbie like myself?
I am somewhat mechanically inclined – I built an engine for my 74 Honda CB550 – but I know there will be surprises I didn't expect.
As I am awaiting my Haynes manual I thought I'd ask some painfully basic questions.
Is it possible to do the water pump/trans mount with a set of socket wrenches, pliers, vise grips etc. or do I need to get other tools as well. I took a good look in the engine compartment and everything is packed tight in there and I noticed there are “star” type bolts on the engine which I have never seen before. Any other special tools I should get to be able to service her myself ?

And finally, while cleaning the engine and surveying the area I managed to bake off the little vent that comes out of the larger nipple in the valve cover. Is this a breather of some sort ? where does the small tube lead to end up ? I’d like to replace the hose as it hardened quite badly. I ran a brass tube through the broken vent and glued this together, and hope that the smaller diameter won't constrict anything before I get a replacement.
Thanks in advance for any advice and tips.
Kind regards
Tomasz

·
Registered
75 Posts
Tomasz

I replaced my water pump this weekend.. Relatively easy to do.