SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an '02 Aero wagon auto with 175k miles that I was about to sell. I loaned it to a friend for 2 weeks while his car was in the shop and he drove it a little too long when the belt slipped off due to a big trans fluid leak from the cooler lines getting all over the belt area (since fixed all that). Car overheated enough for the coolant hose from thermostat to radiator to blow off

I believe that because of that the head gasket started to fail. There is now coolant on the dipstick. No other symptoms, 150 psi on all cylinders, but the coolant doesn't really hold pressure and I assume it's continuing to leak in the oil

Is it worth me trying to do the headgasket to resell, or should I just get rid of it?
I've never done it before and have no idea what's involved, but I've done most other things on the car and I am up for a challenge - unless someone tells me it's not worth the trouble and I should let it go

Car is in good condition otherwise, except for some dogleg rust

·
Registered
9,076 Posts
If you don't know what you're doing, it would be a big job. Unfortunately after overheating like that, there can be other damage to the engine. It's a parts car, or a car for someone with a spare engine and the inclination to swap it.

·
Registered
7,728 Posts
the head gasket is a "big job" as EdT said but it's doable. The biggest thing you should remember is that (1) you are going to have to take the head to a machine shop to check for flatness and possibly have it planed and (2) when you take the head off it's a 2-person lift to make sure you don't break one of the plastic timing chain guides.

the cost of the head gasket in't all that bad, you should replace the head bolts and that brings teh cost up a bit higher. If you have a place to work and can take your time it's not a horribly difficult job to do.