SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks!

Having owned 2 Saabs previously, but having been Saabless since 2012, a hole has been burning in my heart that needs filled. An opportunity fell very randomly into my lap and I’d love some input. I’m very familiar with Saabs, but I’m not a mechanic, so need advice from others with that type of knowledge. For context, I had a 99 9-3 5-door lpt 5M that I got new in Oct 1998, modified heavily, and then had to part with it in 2012 at 158K because it needed repairs worth 5x the car’s value. I also had a 95 9000 Aero 5M that I got in 05 with 85K and sold to my brother two years later with just over 100K. Both were nearly trouble-free apart from dumb stuff I caused.
So I met a guy at a bar who is retiring and then moving across the country and he wants to sell me his 99 9-3 convertible, lpt 5M, with 167K for $500. I’ve only seen it once, briefly, in a dark parking lot. The paint is worn on the hood and trunk lid, seats are worn, SID is out and the power antenna is stuck. The top was replaced in recent years and the tires are good. I’m going tomorrow morning to check it out more and drive it. What should I look for and is this a good idea even for the low price? It wouldn’t be my primary transportation. Thanks!

·
Registered
841 Posts
For that price, if its a confidence-inspiring reliable drive, take a punt. The dead SID might just be the printed circuit ribbon connecting the motherboard with the display. There are three types of DIY repair and I think you can get new ribbons. You can in Europe anyway. If you're very lucky, the ribbon is fine and its the illumination bulbs all blown, which is an easier fix.

The telescopic aerial is a weak spot on these but thats repairable too, with a new mast/nylon drive cable kit. Apart from that - usual precautions apply.

Doug

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3