SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In my bid for extra power i am doing a few things to decrease intake temps (Eriks site) He mentions removing the two coolant pipes to the intake.
Problem is it dosent mention the role of the pipes in the first place, and i like to know what i have done:eek: All i can do is guess its keeping the intake warm for some reason:roll: will it have any negatives if removed?

·
Registered
131 Posts
I'm not really experienced in the area (haven't done this [yet] myself), but the purpose of running coolant through the TB is to keep it warm in the winter I guess; the engine warms up faster. In short, during the summer, the intake temps will be a little cooler / during the winter, plan on reconnecting the hoses to the TB unless you can wait for it to warm up on its own.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
The reason for running coolent through the throttle body is so that it doesnt freeze open/close in the coold winter climates of Sweeden. Ingenious idea but it also comes at a cost especially in the summer when that coolent is running through the TB which raises intake temps. If you think you get as cold as Sweeden in the winter than you might want to think about reconnecting during the winter but if not then dont worry about it.

·
Registered
4,293 Posts
Marks900SE said:
The reason for running coolent through the throttle body is so that it doesnt freeze open/close in the coold winter climates of Sweeden...
It does not heat only the TB and the throttle plate. The coolant passes just above the connections for the PCV line and the vacuum line ports, which are tiny by comparison to the TB. The vac line ports do not go directly into the TB bore. They are actually connected to two small chambers in the TB casting, which are open toward the bottom, and into the intake manifold.

·
Registered
3,009 Posts