SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi my 82 turbo 900 saab needs new head gasket while i do it also want to get the turbo up to 9psi what mods will i need to do to head and motor for this 2 work also will standard turbo do 9psi(new to turbos)

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
mines a standard turbo and i run 9psi daily :confused: well, when my turbo wasn't blown i did :roll: and tomorrow with a new turbo i shall again run 9+ psi... for a short while i ran up to about 16-17psi daily, the engines still fine, it's how i managed to blow the turbo though

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
but doesnt motor cut out with to much boost? or is that only in latter models also what psi do they run standard im new to saab and turbos mine is standard 1982 900 turbo.

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
sanctity said:
but doesnt motor cut out with to much boost? or is that only in latter models also what psi do they run standard im new to saab and turbos mine is standard 1982 900 turbo.
unless you have an LPT (Low Pressure Turbo, meaning no APC or intercooler), then it should limit your boost around 10-12psi, and you won't hit the fuel cutoff until 14psi... at least that's how mine works, i'm not sure if australia got the LPTs or not, we never did

EDIT: nvm, you have an 82 turbo, meaning it probably is an LPT, cuz i don't think the APC existed till 85? and it's also an 8 valve... still, i think you could run pressures like that, i've heard of other members doing it without trouble

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
what do i look for to see if it has one.also if u can help is it hard to fit intercooler to it as want to do that 2

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
^^ edited post

the intercooler if you have one is going to be right behind the left headlight, it'll look like a small radiator, and the APC will be in the left side fenderwell, it'll be a black box, should say APC on it