SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright so I have a 95 9000 CSE. The engine threw a rod out a little while back got a new motor but my turbo has play in the shaft. I just came across a 16G TD05 7cm turbo and I jumped on it now I would have to either rebuild my old turbo or try to find a way to change out my flange on the manifold and downpipe. My question is how hard is it to rebuild a turbo and would it be worth it, and what turbo is stock on this car? Please help, trying to get this thing done its been over a year with the engine deal.

·
Registered
2,026 Posts
I'm not an expert on turbocharger rebuilds - by any means, so wait for others with more experience to offer advice. In the meantime:

I can't speak for the type you just bought, I'm more of an OEM type mechanic - but renewing seals and bearings on a stock blower (Mitsubishi/Garret T25/28) is relatively straight forward.

Provided that the installed rotating assembly is undamaged and does not require re-balancing it can be done in an afternoon. Rebuild kits are available for less than $50 - that's for a standard kit with journal bearings and carbon seals.

You get everything needed to complete the job. Some kits even include some things you don't need. That can cause some confusion at first. But when you disassemble everything becomes clear.

The hardest part is pulling the turbo out from between the exhaust manifold and the downpipe. Spray all 7 nuts repeatedly with PBlaster well in advance.

OH YEAH - before you even start, find a BIG heavy duty snap-ring plier. The snap-ring that secures the compressor housing to the CHRA (center housing and rotating assembly) is about 4 inches in diameter and wicked strong. I couldn't find one big and sturdy enough anywhere and consequently spent hours fabricating a jig to get it out.