SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow Saabers.

This is my first time posting but a veteran saab mechanic/enthusiast and now on my 3rd saab, 2004 9-3 Aero 2.0T,

The only mod i have on the car is a carbon intake with MAF, an abbott ECU ( apparently ) and horrid wheels :cry: ( only owned for a week )

Right let the puzzle begin!

I have bought a 9-3 Aero and it is really sweet a steal if i dont mind saying so, (never as good as my 96 9k stage 5 but good enuf)

the guy i bought it from said that the turbo has " gone mate! " ok i said and bought the car under the impression that i would just put a new turbo on it.

but on the 200 mile drive back i spent the whole time wondering if this guy was just a complete baffoon. i honestly cant see a problem???? the turbo boosts to the red and it does shift and goes to the red line??? WTF ??

so i asked the guy what happened for him to think it needs a new turbo..... " i was driving, wheels spun, traction control came on then had no boost and now turbo is louder than b4. "

my instant reaction was boost pipe as i found out in my 9k after going to 3" intercooler and pipping, as im sure your aware of the hoses popping off with out mikalors and a bead.

now i kno Trionic 8 enough to understand that the TC will drop boost cos it has lost traction right but i cant understand why this guy is saying it needs a new turbo, it sounds fine and works fine as far as im concerned.

also if there was an issue then surly the mighty trionic 8 would have somthing to say about it as it has more sensors than NASA.

i have a lot of education with turbos and perfomance and saabs in general but this has stumpped me.

my problem is, i dont want to go yipeeee and get complacent and do damage but i just cant understand this guy.

so if you please, your knoledge and experiance would be very helpfull