SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new T3/T4 turbo and I want to space the turbo further away from the end of the manifold to clear the transmission.
Can spacers be bought or do they have to be made. Would like to go out and up.
Any experience, pics?/

·
Banned
7,270 Posts
That's no joke Shan... Raul, Raul...

This is my conversion from T3 to what Turbo Technics call 'M10' - I'm sure there's another name
for it but it was different to the T3 flange so I had to convert.

My welding's not great in this photo. I'm still learning, but it's getting better...!

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks this is exeactly what I had in mind although I would like to angle the "tube" upward slightly to get the turbo higher.

I need the space and height to get 3" intake piping to the turbo over the auto transmission I am using in my race car. Yes an auto. The locals use autos in drag and sprint racing and my transmission man says he can fit modern bands and clutch packs into the Borg Warner 37 to take the power. He is looking at using B/W 51 clutch packs. He is also looking at modifying the torque converter for better take off.

I thought of using a manual tranny but was scared off by all the failure reports so I will try the auto. If it doesnt work well what the hell it is only money I can sell my other kidney.

·
Banned
7,270 Posts
the auto has some serious advantages over the manual but if you keep your rev limit at 6k then the top speed is about 125mph and that could come up rather quickly with a high-output motor.

The advantages of the auto are 3 long gears instead of 5 shorter gears go really well with a turbocharged engine. Take-off is more controlled with the autobox and you change gear with the throttle open so you don't dump boost on gearhanges. My old automatic T16 was very quick - I won many road races in that car against some impressive competition.

·
Registered
163 Posts