SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 86 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys since I am new to the saab world I wanted to ask your advice. I am pretty familiar wih modding turbo cars and n/a's as having owned a few 996's and 930's in the past. I recently picked up an 00 9-5se 3.0 and as far as i can tell my options are limited to a remapped ecu, exhaust and higher flow intake and the 4cyls get all the goodies.. For the money/performance gains would you consider it worth it? I am not expecting this to be an autocrosss or de car but would like a little more step in it. also i am looking into a set of side skirts and an aero lip but can it be fitted to an se bumper or do i need to swap out the bumper all together? Thanks Nate

· Registered
1,621 Posts
Ok guys since I am new to the saab world I wanted to ask your advice. I am pretty familiar wih modding turbo cars and n/a's as having owned a few 996's and 930's in the past. I recently picked up an 00 9-5se 3.0 and as far as i can tell my options are limited to a remapped ecu, exhaust and higher flow intake and the 4cyls get all the goodies.. For the money/performance gains would you consider it worth it? I am not expecting this to be an autocrosss or de car but would like a little more step in it. also i am looking into a set of side skirts and an aero lip but can it be fitted to an se bumper or do i need to swap out the bumper all together? Thanks Nate
hard for me to say because i havent driven the 6 cyl, but i would say not worth it. you really dont get much punch with the tune thats availiable for it anyway. that turbo is SO small it cant handle more than its already given.

the nice thing about the 6 is that the powerband is fairly linear, you get the extra 2 cylinders to help you way down low and the turbo will pick up the extra slack.

as far as tuning to make it a fast car, i dont know about that...

· Registered
1,621 Posts