SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, first post - been scouring the internet for ages trying to find a solution to the problem with my wife's 2001 9-3 Softtop.

It is an auto transmission and constantly (well 19 times out of 20) sticks in park with the only way to move the lever being the little override button next to the shift lever.

It looks like a transmission shift solenoid problem from what I can gather - brake lights work fine so prob not brake switch and it seems to have been a factory recall on those models (which I have no idea if it was carried out - but it would seem not).

Is there any way I can confirm this as the problem - and if so is it a DIY replacement? I'm not a great mechanic, so if we are talking about dropping the transmission out she can continue to use the override button! I stripped the central console as far as getting to the solenoid, but couldn't find any way of getting it out to inspect it.

I found the 9-5 equivalent bulletin:http://www.townsendimports.com/Saab_TSB_Folder/Saab_TSB_pdfs/432_2138.pdf

which looks achievable (well if I had a 9-5 it might be)

but the 9-3 one seems a bit secret squirrel:
http://www.townsendimports.com/Saab_TSB_Folder/Saab_TSB_pdfs/432_2037.PDF

Any help much appreciated!

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Are you referring to the shift interlock, which holds the shifter in park unless the brake pedal is depressed? I do know there is a fuse in the fuseboard for the device. I don't know the fuse number but I could find it if you need it.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes it's the shift interlock. If you have the fuse number that would be great; fingers crossed that is all that's wrong - but I'm not generally that lucky!

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Yes it's the shift interlock. If you have the fuse number that would be great; fingers crossed that is all that's wrong - but I'm not generally that lucky!
From WIS Hope it helps: