SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car won't let me shift into any of the gears, it had been tough to get it in 3rd lately and now it seems as though it has died. I don't believe it's the clutch but I'm not a mechanic. Any thoughts...

it's a 5 spd manual

·
Registered
2,365 Posts
2 obvious things:-

1. Yes really, it is the clutch, master or slave cylinder or other bit of hydraulic

2. The gear linkage coupling

David.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Had a simular issue with my C900. Hard to put it into gears, then one day I just lost 2nd gear all together. Turned out to be the shifter linkage (coupling) that wore out. Definately check that 1st like DJ Taylor says. Tranny may not be as bad as you think! ;)

I'm thinking that when you have an issue with your hydraulics (clutch, slave cylinder, master cylinder) it won't disengage from the engine, and the car will just pull away even when you have the clutch pedal depressed. That's been my experience with hydraulic problems.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Clutch still feels similiar... although it does go to the floor easy. I called my saab work shop and I heard anywhere from the slave to something hydraulic... maybethe linkage.. anyways I'll keep you updated tomorrow to let you know. hope its not the tranny

·
Banned
637 Posts
With a little Luck it's your Clutch master Cylinder that has Failed.. I say luck cuz that's approx a $150 to $200 repair at a Competent shop.
Besides it's the Usual culprit.
Other possibles will cost multiples of that.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The mechanic took a look at it,,, and noticed that the tranny is in 1st and reverse at the same time.... any ideas?

·
Registered
3,938 Posts