SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day everyone! I am brand new to Saab Central and am just now getting into Saabs for their uniqueness.

I really enjoy my 2003 Saab 9-3 Vector but have had a vast array of transmission/gearbox malfunction issues =(

My car is the 2003 Vector model and is the 5 speed high pressure automatic transmission.

I am looking for any help that I am able to get for my particualr issue so for anyone who might know anything and is willing to read my thread PLEASE help!
Again: for any of you who are willing to read this:I appreciate it more than you know.

Timeline of events:
First: I had a "gearbox malfunction limited performance contact Saab dealer" warning in my SID and I dont remember my exact error code but it just said input/turbine speed sensor no input etc, drove it around for a few months in limp mode (only 2nd and 5th gear work) only to find out that I was ortunate because in some cases your tranny goes out fast after getting this error message but anyway I changed the input speed sensor and it fixed it

Secondly: A few months later I had the same "gearbox malfunction limited performance etc" appear on my SID as well as my car going into limp mode, scanned it right away and I hade the error code P1743, within a few more minutes of driving my tranny began to fail on me completely, (I couldn't drive faster than 40 mph but sometimes I could drive just fine freeway speeds with very slipping and sloppy shifts) very random tranny performance but still slipping constantly especially when engine/tranny heated up, also my car would stall upon stopping and I was told that this was probably the solonoid locking up my torque converter.
Later on i got the codes p0732, p0733, p0735 etc which means Gear 2, 3 and 5 incorrect ratio.