SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1,432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm a newbie (well posted a couple of times). I am by no means a super mechanic, more like weekend warrior trying to not spend the money in the shop and save buck. But I am fascinated by the experts that exisit on this site, and hoping I could get some good advise. I will share my experiences and actually have helped a couple of guys on here already myself. But my expertise is very limited and I'm in deep yoghurt right now.

Have a severe problemsand need help understand what I've done major wrong - cause I'm sure I am the responsible party to this fiasco. Sorry for the long post, but I have to explain what I did, to avoid any ambiguity.

This weekend I decided to change my timing chain as I knew it had stretched (tensioner petruded 18-19 mm or so). Before this I actually had a misfire code (301), which I thought was related to a timing chain that was slightly off the TDC marks. When I changed the chain, the marks were slightly off at TDC.... so I thought I'd found the 'bad guy" to the misfire. Nevertheless, here's what I did when rolling-in the new chain
1. Put crank and cams at TDC
2. Removed the chain from their sprockts
3. Moved the camshaft sprockets to their "neutral' positions by moving exhaust sprocket 60 deg forward and inlet 60 deg backwards (as to protect the valves during CS turning).
4 Covered things-up with a blanket and cut the old chain.
5. Attached the new chain and rolled the old one out by turning the cranshaft (my wife held the chain and ensured it was not slack during this process - nothing got stuck)
6 Attached both ends of new chain and installed master link
7 Returned crankshaft to its TDC position
8 Returned camshafts from their neutral positions to their TDC marks
9 Installed new chain over sprockets, got the TDC marks spot-on at all locations (cams and crank).
10 Installed tensioner (brand new, btw) and torqued to spec