SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 118 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this car a few weeks ago and it lost oil pressure after about 1500 miles and a tick started. I only drove the car for 4 min after tick started.

Can anyone inform me what this is in the first picture
or where to look for more damage from here

I found the copper ring underneath where it is held in the picture.

And is there supposed to be a bearing in the second picture

Please help this is my first time cracking into an engine other than valve job on my Bmw e30

Attachments

·
Registered
12,793 Posts
That is a copper o-ring, but I am not aware of any that large on our engines that don't have a rubber seal on them, it appears from the picture like it is almost 1" in diameter, the all the plain copper ones are smaller than that and shouldn't be anywhere near the head, I'm thinking it was dropped in there by accident.

11 ft lbs for the cam bolts, start where the lobes are pressing on the tappets and black ones nearest the spark plugs, they have oil ways in them.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The car dropped oil pressure and I stopped instantly. Filled it up and dropped 2 bottles in the next couple miles.

Then herd tick. It worsens within a min or so .. I had it towed home and sits till I can find the problem

I found the gasket looking thing on the driver side of the engine

Any ideas on where to go from here

·
Registered
12,793 Posts
If you lost 2 quarts of oil in a couple of miles, it should be obvious where the leak is coming from. That being said, the obvious places for a high volume oil loss that are sealed with a copper only washer would be: Drain plug, oil pressure switch, oil feed line for turbo, everything else is either sealed with o-rings or rubber sealed washers.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
i bought the pvc upgrade today

but the oil is coming from the top of the throttle body where the turbo piping connects