SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i am new to saab, just got my 2000 9-3 today, and from what I understand I have a T7. I really wanted to get a bov that will give me that lovely woosh sound, but Ive read some stuff that leads me to believe its not gonna happen because of t7 management. Can someone maybe clear this up for me for good and let me know if I can install a bov that will give me the woosh im lookin for. and if not, do I have any other options?

·
Registered
956 Posts
formula said:
So i am new to saab, just got my 2000 9-3 today, and from what I understand I have a T7. I really wanted to get a bov that will give me that lovely woosh sound, but Ive read some stuff that leads me to believe its not gonna happen because of t7 management. Can someone maybe clear this up for me for good and let me know if I can install a bov that will give me the woosh im lookin for. and if not, do I have any other options?
no you can not put a bov on your car. t7 is what you have and with t7 it meters the incoming air via a maf on the intake and a bov would bypass that and cause a cel and make it run poorly. your only other alternative is to put an open air cone filter intake on the car to make the turbo more audible and you will get a little bit of whoosh from the valve. the stock part is a bpv (bypass valve). it sends that charged air back into the intake to the turbo, where as a bov sends it out to the atmosphere. yes you can upgrade the bpv/diverter valve with say a forge or hyperboost but its honestly not worth it until you up the boost since you wont get any extra performance from it unless your stock one is damaged. so while your stock save your money for other worthwhile mods. when you go to do an ecu tune then get an upgraded bpv

·
Registered
428 Posts