SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

My first post here. I dearly need some help from you kind folks.

I have a 1992 Saab turbo 16v which I have been giving love and attention to for the last 5 years. It drives really well. Body, engine, and interior in great condition.

Over the last few months the clutch pedal has developed a 'bumb' or a 'notch' or a 'lumb' halfway through when I release it. You feel it in your foot. Only when you release it.

When the car is cold and everything is not up to pressure and I change gear, the gear get stuck or jumps when I try to change, and the car sometimes stalls. I have to turn off the ignition to get it out of gear.

When it is hot it drives like it is brand new. No problems with the clutch, gears or driving whatsoever.

I bled the clutch a few days ago and lots of dirty oil came out. But that did not solve the problem.

Any ideas what is going here ?

Many thanks in advance for any advice given.

·
Registered
12,583 Posts
Statistically, there's a 78.7% chance you have a worn Slave cylinder, 8.4% chance of a worn Master cylinder, 3.2% rusty clutch shaft, and 1.3% bad line. The rest is worn pedal and unknown.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for that..

My instinct it is the pedal.

It is like the pedal is catching.

If I push in and out the pedal without starting the car I can feel the 'lump' (can't think of a better word than 'lump') on the clutch pedal return. But it happens randomly. Sometimes/most of the time it does not happen.

The 'lumpy' feel throws/catches the gear (sometimes) when driving it......when the car is cold.

It is very difficult to describe.

Other than that it drives fine.

·
Registered
3,910 Posts