SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
752 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently went stg 3 but i've been experiencing a plethora of problems. The d/p came loose, completely, I had to retighten and add lock washers, and now it seems like the car is running too lean. Of course this is a qualitative analysis as I do not possess the means to quantify how lean but the exhaust gas exiting the muffler is extremely hot, as well as a crackling/ popping sound coming from inside the muffler. I don't know how much of the is attributed to the free flow cat or not. Please if anyone has any insight please enlighten me as I am at the end of my rope with stg. 3. TIA.

·
Registered
96 Posts
I have no experience of the stage 3 diretcly...but, I remember the catless exhaust I fitted to previous car (a rex), resulted in lots of crackles and pops particularly when I floor it and let of the gas in 4th, even had the odd bang with flames out of the exhaust.

So I would say this normal.

Brian

·
Registered
752 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Sorry I didn't really explain. The Vector/aero stage3 doesn't use larger injectors, I'm not sure if the Linears need the injector upgrade for stage 3.

·
Registered
1,160 Posts
oslowly -

You'll need to get the following from your local NAPA store:

Qty 3 M8 bolts, approximately 1.5" in length. Standard Thread.

Qty 3 M8 Nuts

Qty 3 M8 Lock Washers

It's a royal pain in the butt to get to the rear-bottom bolt, and you will bearly have enough thread on the bolt to get the nut on, but the end result is no more leaky downpipe.

·
Registered
112 Posts
oslowley,

You said your EGT's are hot, what are your EGT's at under full load? You think the car may be running lean, high EGT's would indicate that. I have a stage 2 and my EGT's don't ever climb above 1250 to 1300. My probe is in the down pipe and I know this is not the best place for it. That being said the temp diffrance is about a couple hundred deg. So about 1500 max.