SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I recently acquired a subwoofer and I want to use it in my 2000 Saab 9-5 (it has the Harman/Kardon system btw).
I've located an amp that will match RMS wattage pretty well and I will be using that too.
I'm not planning on installing these things myself, so I had a few questions before I take it to a sound shop.

Do I need an aftermarket stereo head unit to hook the amp up to it? Would most double-DIN units fit if I do?
There's apparently a Harman/Kardon amp under the glovebox on the passenger side...
Can that be ignored, or would it have to be removed?
And lastly, are there any special instructions I need to give to the installer? (I'm new to the sound stuff so I don't really know. Plus we can probably all agree that Saabs are a little strange...:cheesy:)
Thanks for any help,
Ryan

·
Registered
7,966 Posts
the saab head unit and the HK amp are not single-ended but differential driven, both on the input and output side. So if you're going to use those you need to take that into consideration.

There is an EXCELLENT tutorial on line, linked to in the FAQ section, on how to add a Double-DIN receiver into the dash and continue to use the HK amnp that is built into the car.

There is also a lot of info on line about the audio system. do a google search for "saab angry kitchen appliances" and you'll find it. shows the wiring pinouts, etc for the head units and the amps.

If you're going to replace all of them, I'd suggest getting a blown amp somewhere and taking the wiring header out of it instead of splicing into the wiring harness. That way you can always go back. I have a working pioneer amp that is lying around that you could kill. PM me if you're interested, I'll sell it for not much plus shipping.

·
Registered
3,951 Posts