SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As usual i come here for all my Saab help. You guys are great.I currently own a 99 9-5 and wife has a 96 9000. Twice now i have self diagnosed through here making the dealer curious as to how i could possible have the answer. My suggestions went overlooked more than once.( I dont use them anymore:roll:).

Anyway, My latest was the DI. Which most of you know to be a very common problem. My question now is why for so many years has this been a problem with Saabs. If we all know this, they obviously have known for some time:confused:.

I am NOT a mechanic but i do work in manufacturing, as a matter of fact, in warranty and product development. When we see a common repeated problem with the product we fix or change it. Why does this go unchanged for so many years and through different models?......or has it?

Thats a damn expensive part to be replacing every 50k:eek:

Comments anyone?

...moderators, if i have posted this in the wrong area please forgive me and pop it in the right place!

·
Registered
22,211 Posts
Is the DI a common problem?

The average driver will take 4-5 years to reach 50,000 miles and many DI's go on above 100,000 miles. How many distributors, points plug leads etc would you have to replace in this time on other makes of car?

Saab put a 2 year warranty on it already ;)

·
Registered
11,030 Posts
I'm on my 3rd Saab and i've never replaced a DI yet. I do however treat them as consumables, for some inexplicable reason US dealers try to charge an extortionate amount for a DI, whilst you can get them in the UK for a sensible amount (unlike other parts). :roll:

·
Registered
5,641 Posts