SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Saab 9-3 Aero
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I realized today that my 93 has ~132,000 miles and I've never replaced the shock absorbers. ;oops: They feel fine to me but I guess I've been driving it all this time so I probably would not notice the handling degrading as it's such a slow change...

Anyway, I was wondering if I need to change the springs as well at this point? Or can I just replace the shock absorbers and be done?

I've read in other posts that while replacing the front ones is fairly easy, changing the rear ones is more difficult. is that true? And if it is, why is that? Just curious... I was planning on doing it myself but obviously I've never done it before. :cheesy:

Thanks,
Olivier

·
Registered
980 Posts
If none of the springs are broken and the car appears to sit properly then the springs are likely ok to reuse. In the front you'll be replacing the entire strut, less the springs; in the rear it's just a plain shock absorber.

In addition to the shocks, you'll probably want to replace the upper strut-mounts and bearings in the front and get a new set of zinc spacers also. The spacers sit beneath the spring and supposedly help slow the corrosion of the springs. Earlier cars came with a piece of rubber hose in place of the zincs and should be changed to the zincs when serviced.

In the rear you'll probably need to replace the upper shock mounts as they usually self-destruct when you unbolt them. They are made from cast aluminum and not very durable.

You'll need a spring compressor for the fronts to disassemble the struts. You can rent a heavy-duty one at AutoZone or similar. Beware of cheap ones that are just a couple of pieces of threaded-rod with hooks. Disassembling a strut with a cheap spring compressor can cause injury or worse.

The rears are a piece of cake, especially if you replace the upper shock mounts at the same time.