SaabCentral Forums banner

81 - 93 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
225 Posts
I almost forgot From Russia with Love gave us a huge laugh appreciate all the humor as well. It kind of catches You by surprise and lightens up and otherwise stressful situation. Thanks again I appreciate you taking so much time to lay it out Javanbra.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Thank you

Thank you so much for putting this comprehensive "how-to" together! I bought a used Dell 630, Windows XP Pro and a Chinese Tech2 clone in total about $350. Everything worked the first time. Great job, thank you so much!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
dumb question about marrying my 'new' ECM

2008 Sport combi wagon - 2.8 6 cy. -
Had a bad ECM - local mechanics found a good one, cloned all the data, but got stuck there.
Said they couldnt get past the immobilzer? - They do not have the hardware/ software?

My dumb question- If my only other option is to tow the car 300! miles to a Saab specialist, how hard/practical would it be to buy a Tech 2 and TIS software? That is what I have been told is all that is required?


Does one REALLY need an old XP laptop loaded just right to do this?


THANKS
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
18,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #85
You don't HAVE to, but it's easiest for us non techie people. A Dell D630 has a serial port so no adapters necessary. It usually has XP Pro with Service pack 3 as well which makes it the easiest laptop to work without fussing with software/adapters and ****.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
If you don't want to go the Tech2, old laptop, XP route it seems you can reprogramme a Motronic ECU directly with a modern laptop and an ODB adapter. But nothing else.
See this YouTube video Saab 9-3T Part 2 - ECU swap and programming with a twist - YouTube[/url]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Amazing instructions. Installed perfectly. Only issue I had was nothing to do with either Tis softwares but fox pdf viewer which kept showing errors during the install and wouldn`t download.


I found sumatra pdf viewer. Really small program to download, super lightweight and worked well. Just a thought if anyone else has this issue (I`m a new user so can`t post a link but it is the top of google)

Once again, fantastic instructions - perfectly details and no step confusing or missed!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I just went through these steps and thought I'd share my experiences. First off, Thanks for the EXCELLENT instructions and access to the software!

I have two Saab 9-3 (2007) currently and purchased a Chinese knock off Tech 2 through E-bay. I tried installing XP on a VM (I'm a mac user) and had difficulty getting it to load (BSOD), so I decided to go the cheap laptop route. I bought a Dell 6140 for $25 at my local Goodwill store. It was missing a power supply, but got one at another GoodWill store for $0.22 (pay by the pound). I have an old XP license and DVD so it was pretty easy to get it loaded, however drivers from Dell took a while to get all the devices (USB, Video, Wifi, Ethernet) working correctly. I bought the Keyspan by Tripp Lite USA-19HS High-Speed USB Serial Adapter as the laptop had no serial ports.

I installed GlobalTIS without any issues and applied the Security Access. However, when trying add the key, the Tech2 still complained about security access. I then installed TIS2000 and decided to give that a crack. When running DDINST32.EXE I got a registry error, but I decided to continue following the steps. I was able to apply the security access with TIS2000, although it took a few tries with TIS2000 as it didn't recognize the Tech 2 immediately.

I had a Chinese key which I could not program at all, I guess I should have read the reviews first on Amazon. I ended up buying a transmitter (everything except blank key) from a local Volvo dealership that services Saabs. Not the best price but I needed it working before next week.

The new key programmed perfectly!

A few lessons learned.

- Try your local Goodwill for a old laptop
- When downloading from Tech2 it must be on the main Logo Screen, do not hit enter to go to the main menu. I wasted a ton of time troubleshooting why I couldn't download because of this.
- 2007 and earlier Saabs may need TIS2000
- Ignore "registry error" when running DDINST32.EXE
- Do not fall for cheap Chinese key transmitters, they won't work
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Need help with tis2000

I have installed cracked tis2000 and it's working good only problem that I have is it's only for OPEL. Is there any way to add SAAB license to it or I have to reinstall it to have Saab license
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
18,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #90
Need help with tis2000

I have installed cracked tis2000 and it's working good only problem that I have is it's only for OPEL. Is there any way to add SAAB license to it or I have to reinstall it to have Saab license
Your tech2 needs a Saab 148 card. What card did you request when you bought it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
My tech2 has right 148 card. The problem is with tis2000 I have European cracked version of tis2000 for O
Your tech2 needs a Saab 148 card. What card did you request when you bought it?

Yes I have SAAB 128 card, but the problem with Tis2000 I have European cracked version of Tis2000 for OPEL not SAAB. So I was wondering if there was a way to add SAAB to my tis2000 or I need to reinstall it for Saab? Is there a way to keep both of them SAAB and OPEL?
 
81 - 93 of 93 Posts
Top