SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I have just bought my first 1994 Saab 900S and to be honest I am very impressed with it. It has a FSH and for a car 11 years old is in my opinion is in very good condition.

The problem that I have is with the reverse gear. Gears 1-5 work like new. When I engage reverse gear in order to remove the key I have to hold the gear stick back so I can remove the key or else it pops out, the same happens when I put the car in reverse to drive backwards.

If any of you clever peeps have an idea what is wrong please let me know, is it gearbox, reverse gear or clutch, but if it was would it happen in all gears? Im hoping its something less sinister. Is this a common fault? Im no mechanic but I really would like to know what is wrong before I get stung by a garage, no Saab dealers where I live L .

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks in advance.:)

·
Registered
6,596 Posts
Welcome Alfi!

The transmissions are problematic, especially on the early 900's like ours. There is a chance that a simple linkage or clutch adjustment can help though.

How much play would you say is in the clutch pedal? Also, does the car grind or anything when you try to put it in reverse, or is it just sort of hard to find?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi J

I would say there is about 3 inch movement on the pedal. It seems to go into gear ok (smooth no crunching and the reversing light come on :) ), I have had it in gear and started moving backwards to find it pops out and maybe too eagerly tried reengaging the gear causing it to crunch, or having what I think is the flywheel spinning around trying to find the gear and clipping the cog, hope you understand what im trying to say. If I hold the the gearstick in place and reverse it seems ok, but can be a bit awkward reversing with one have one the stick and one one the wheel ;) would this happen if it was a damaged cog? Thanks

·