SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently purchased a 1989 900 turbo convertible (140,000 miles) and I am looking to restore as much as possible but don't want to get too expensive (I could just buy a newer one if cost gets too high). My question is where to begin. The engine runs fine, Just rebuilt the tranny, leather seats are worn but okay, except driver's seat is shot. the exhaust in new and the body is in good shape. turn signals don't work, heated seats don't work, not sure about the cruise control or the Air conditioner (these are not important). Should I look to the engine first? should I do the cosmetic things first? Suspension upgrade? brake upgrade? I am new to Saabs so are there other things I should check out first? So if you had just bought this car, where would you begin?
LS

·
Registered
219 Posts
Lacy Sutton said:
I have recently purchased a 1989 900 turbo convertible (140,000 miles) and I am looking to restore as much as possible but don't want to get too expensive (I could just buy a newer one if cost gets too high). My question is where to begin. The engine runs fine, Just rebuilt the tranny, leather seats are worn but okay, except driver's seat is shot. the exhaust in new and the body is in good shape. turn signals don't work, heated seats don't work, not sure about the cruise control or the Air conditioner (these are not important). Should I look to the engine first? should I do the cosmetic things first? Suspension upgrade? brake upgrade? I am new to Saabs so are there other things I should check out first? So if you had just bought this car, where would you begin?
LS
I would drain and fill every fluid...get full syn in the engine.

Is it an automatic?

Fix the turn signal, so its legal. And then chip away at your other problems a weekend at a time. I would also use this site for guidence on your repairs :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Restore 900 turbo vert.