SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,682 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Like the title says, i am going to replace my hood, driver's side fender,and shifter within the next few days. I recently got my "new" (used) parts from Frank (thanks!) an SC member. I would just replace the shifter knob, but i've been told that it is actually much easier to replace the entire shifter including the boot. I've never done any of this before, so any accurate info that you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Please also feel free to PM me with any info or tips, or post links to walkthroughs and such. Lastly, i also have to replace the broken glass cover/lens for the driver's side headlight but i don't yet have the part. Would it be worth it to repace the hood and fender now or should i wait untill i have all of the parts i need? In other words, would i have to remove the bumper or fender or anything to replace the headlight cover?

Thanks, Peter.

P.S.
I am replacing the hood and fender due to some dents caused by both hitting a dear, and being sideswiped by a pickup truck. I am replacing the shifter because the top part with the diagram is screwed up - mechanically it works just fine, but it looks ugly.

P.P.S.
I've just recently moved which accounts for the absence of my beautiful posts, which i am only too sure that many of you have missed dearly.:roll:

·
Registered
1,682 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Update

It looks like i can fugure out how to replace the hood and shifter without too much confusion. However, i have no idea where/how to start with removal of the fender.

·
Registered
12,355 Posts
A buddy of mine gave me a tip for removing & replacing the hood. Roll up a towel ar two and put them between the open hood and the windshield to keep the hood from sliding into the windshield.