SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just installed a UAC evap with the adapter. The pipes, or tubes, of the adapter extend beyond the firewall, into the engine bay, about 2 inches. I was told that all replacements, no matter the brand, are like this and the pipes have to be bent to fit. If I pull the pipes 2" further into the cabin, it could kink or break them. Besides, it would almost certainly block the connection for the antifrost sensor. And the cover has to go back on. Has anyone done this? Will the pipes take that much movement? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2000 93 SE Vert Auto 2001 93 SE Vert 5spd
215 Posts
I'm following this with interest because I am having AC problems as well and am starting to suspect the evaporator. I'm an AC newbie so pardon me if I state the obvious or misinterpret something.

In the engine bay there should be a bracket between the evaporator pipes onto which the expansion valve gets attached, and I don't see that bracket in your photo. The expansion valve does not attach to the firewall, so it may be OK that the tubes stick into the engine bay like they do. My inclination, which may not be correct, would be to go ahead and attach the expansion valve to the evaporator lines and see if I could bend the lines into place as an assembly to get the AC lines from the engine bay to connect to the expansion valve.

When I replaced my expansion valve I noticed that the evaporator lines had some play, which in looking at your photos may be an issue for me as yours look pretty solid and immovable.

I am also interested in how difficult it was to get to and replace the evaporator as well as how you knew it needed to be replaced.

·
Registered
490 Posts
I had an aftermarket NG900 evaporator made in Taiwan by Man Zai. As shown in picture, the pipes stick out about 4.5 inches from back of evaporator.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·