SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a new-to-me 2007 9-3 that had loads of interior issues. I have fixed most with a combination of LVP paint and eBay, but the one that made me the craziest was the parcel deck behind the rear seats. The beige fabric was completely sun-faded and coming apart from the shelf and looked like hell.

Worse, the angle of the rear window made the reflection front and center every time I looked in the rear-view mirror! I decided to change it to black so that it would reflect less.

This is my first time, but I wanted to share because I couldn't find a post on this topic.

Materials
1 yd VOL-322 from globalupholstery.com. Pattern is a dead match for the headliner, but the color is deep gray/black
1 can Colorbond LVP BMW Black 258
Spray headliner adhesive

Tools
Very sharp knife
Rubber gloves
Trim removal tools

1. Remove C pillars - pop the airbag caps with a trim puller. Use a deep 10m socket to unscrew the bolts that hold them on. Be careful not to lose the black well nuts. Once the bolt is removed, pull out and away from the window.
2. Lower rear seats. The levers are in the trunk, fold down the seats.
3. Remove the trim pins. There are three.
4. Lift the shelf up and then pull out away from the window
5. Remove trim. IMPORTANT: the clips are junk, and will break very easily. Gently release the clips from behind the panel and remove the speaker covers, vent covers, three car seat anchor covers and the other little piece. The anchor cover hinges are very fragile, so be gentle.
6. Remove rubber strips and existing fabric. My fabric was torn, so I had an easy edge, but just pull firmly and it will separate from the shelf. Keep the adhesive rubber strips.

7. Make sure there is no fabric remaining. There will be a white fuzz. I chose to leave it, though it would be nice to find a way to remove it.