SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
SAAB 9-3 Rear Hub Lower Bushing Replacement 24469643

Disclamers:

-I’m NOT a licenced mechanic, and therefore NOT responsible for any negative/unintended consequences from following below steps.
-sorry, a few pics loaded upside down for some reason

Introduction:

The SAAB 9-3, much like the rest of GM’s Epsilon platform cars, has a press fit rubber-metallic bush instead of a rear lower ball joint.

My car is 15 y/o, so these bushes have been getting progressively worse for the last 5 years to the point of partial disintegration & deformation (pic 1). Until very recently however, I had no idea how to replace them without removing the entire hub assembly- a complicated and expensive procedure. The below method however, requires no disassembly, save for the few simple steps to access the bush (not detailed here) and costs nothing assuming you have a few basic hand tools.

To summarise, I used a gear puller to press out the old bushes and then press in the new bushes. Below is a list of everything you'll need:

-OEM Tools 3 Jaw Gear Puller part # 27078 (loaned from AutoZone)
-Large "breaker" ratchet or torque wrench
-16 mm heavy duty socket

-pusher & adapter (see below for what I used)

-SAAB rear hub bushes part #24469643 (x2)

Sorry, don’t have any pics of pressing out the old bushes, but its an almost identical procedure to pressing in the new bushes except for one extra step: before pressing out the perished bushes, clean where they meet with the hub with a wire brush and liberally soak with penetrating oil 24-48 hours before commencing. This may seem like a fairly obvious thing to do, but want to stress it regardless, as it will make the job much easier.

Procedure:

1. First put a short breaker bar between the lower suspension lever and sub-frame (best visible in pic 3) to help isolate the empty hub hole (pic 11) that is ready to receve a new bush.