SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hopefully I've found the correct forum to post my thread. My '96 900 SE Turbo Convertible needs a brake job. I'm not a skilled mechanic, but I've done brake jobs on other cars many times. I did the Googling thing and looked at a few videos of various brake jobs on Saabs, then pulled the rear wheel and saw something completely different than anything I had seen online.

First, the brake line was solid, not flexible like most, so it would appear that the line needs to come off to remove the caliper...correct? Next, though my car is a relatively low mileage car for its age, the caliper, the clips, the pins, etc, seem to be a rusty mess. Would it be best to just replace them, or can they generallu be cleaned up? Just looking for any input, guidance that the community may be able to offer in terms of instructions, thoughts.

Thanks!

·
Registered
12,793 Posts
With the beam axle and a dual piston fixed caliper there is no need for a flexible line at the caliper (the axle, mounting bracket and caliper don't move independently of each other at all, there is a flexible hose near the pivot point of the axle to allow to move).

Should be no need to remove the brake line:
1. There is enough give in the line that you can move the caliper the small amount to get the rotor off.
2. If you are really concerned you can unclip the hard line from the axle and then move the hard line and caliper to the side has one piece utilizing the flexible nature of the rubber hose further up.

As long as the pistons in them aren't seized you should be able to reuse the calipers, you may want to invest in a file, they tend to rust in the openings where the pads go impeding the free movement of the pads.
Because they are fixed (and only move internally) they are pretty prone to rusting badly on the outside, but normally its just cosmetic.

·
Registered
9,927 Posts
It depends on why you need a brake job.