SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So on the way home today, my radio just decided to quit working ('04 9-5). I turned it on once and then turned it off for a few minutes while driving. I then decided to turn it on and it wouldn't turn on. Everything else works, however (the climate control beneath it and the SID above). I checked the fuse box and the 10A fuse was good. Any ideas?

Also, I am new to SAABs and decided to test the "night panel" button to see what it does. Well, it turned off all the lights except the speedo (and with that only lit up to 90MPH), but the scary thing was all the gauges besides the speedo all went to ZERO or turned off. Is that the way it is supposed to work? If so, what were to happen if your car started to overheat and the gauge was off? Seems kind of foolish to me.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
OK, so I go back in the car and try the radio again and now it works! So I tried flipping through and programming some stations.

Then I turn it off and back on to test it again and the "FM1" indicator comes on with NO RADIO STATIONS and will not respond to any of the buttons to change stations. The CD and TAPE, however, do come on.

So, I turn it off one more time and then turn it on again and it works with the radio stations working again too.

What gives? Any ideas what could be going on? I did just have it worked on by a shop today and they did have the battery disconnected.

·
Registered
1,432 Posts
That happened to me too last year. Was driving, and all of a sudden the radio just stopped working. Tried to change channels etc, but to no avail. Thought it was dead, did not even check the fuse when I came home as it was late. The next morning it was working again and has been working ever since. Sorry could not be of help, but there is obviously some glitch in the electrical system somwhere but have no idea what it was/is.

·
Registered
113 Posts