SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a noob to modifying turbo cars, but I am a noob to Saabs. I have noticed that these cars tend to be extremely sensitive when it comes to modding them. If any small thing isn't right, it seems like it won't hesitate to throw a code and go into "limp mode". So my knowledge of what has worked on past turbocharged cars may not fully apply on these since this car is just to damn smart (well in comparrison to my turbo Mitsubishi's that is).

Here is my question. I plan on constructing my own turbo back exhaust for this vehicle. I have noticed something that seems quite odd to me though as far as exhaust sizing goes. I have read of a lot of people running a larger diameter downpipe (3"), and a smaller cat back (2.5"). That to me sounds completely backwards. On any other platform I've worked on, the methodology was to start from the back and work your way forward. As exhaust gets further towards the rear of the car, the more time it's had to cool off and become denser and slower moving in comparison to the air directly after the turbo. With that in mind, everyone always starts from the back with a large cat back (3"). As for downpipes, if you were still in a low/moderate power level, going with a 2.5" downpipe is very common. The air coming right out of the turbo is extremely hot, and moves much faster, so the smaller diameter pipe works fine. But once it starts reaching the back of the car, it becomes cooler and slower moving, which is why you'd step up the diameter a hair to allow for that. Once you start making some better power, well then a 3" downpipe becomes necessary.