SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always thought it would be good to know how to drive in a high performance style. However, I really know nothing about driving except what I have learned in the time I've had my license (2+yrs). Are there any good books that the people of this forum can recommend. I don't want to be a Michael Schumacher, but I am looking for basic information about performance driving (possible entry level SCCA). Thanks.

·
Registered
26 Posts
I have these 2 books, and have talked the author of the first book at local Porsche Club events in the SF Bay Area. They are both useful to get you started with the concepts. However, driving is a mostly hands-on experience. Nothing comes close to actual seat time. I have been going to track and autocross events rather sparingly - once or twice of each a year, and realize after all these years, I am still learning my car.

All cars behave fundamentally the same - FWD, AWD, RWD, front-engined, rear-engined, mid-engined. That aside, there are important subtle differences and nuances. I don't try to be competitive. So to me, the biggest sense of achievement comes from feeling that I am making full use of the capabilities of the vehicle. And I still have ways to go.

I would strongly suggest going to track or autocross schools where they try to give you a good grounding of basic principles with practice. Always ask for instructors to sit with you while you drive. And ideally, they should be familiar with the Saab or at least FWD vehicles so they can give you good pointers.