SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone out there replaced their air filter with a performance part? if you have, what differences has it made? im intrigued to hear as i have never done this on a turbo before.

·
Registered
5,975 Posts
Cold air intake

You can definitely get a sports filter and the kit to connect it directly to the AMM on the 16v. JR racing maybe?

Don't think it makes a lot of difference but if your looking to mod your car in other area's, ie intercooler & exhaust then it's probably a good companion for them.

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the reason i was asking is i have bought a performance filter (not a cone filter or anything) a direct replacement for the old filter in the air box and the only difference i have noticed is the neck breaking boost that used to hit me when i floored it is not so apparent anymore! more of a smooth flowing boost. im sure this is probably better but i miss my lag!

I have searched the posts and there is nothing about this, the effects of the filter, there is a good post about fitting a proper induction kit/cone filter, i might give taht a go next time. i have noticed that second gear is longer and the boost is less obvious! all in all, im dissapointed!

As far as adding it to other mods, i am very very tempted by the 3" exhaust that everyone is talking about and i think once its been through the garage and they give me the damage i am going to look into that, other than that, its got a "red box"

·
Registered
1,782 Posts
Murray, you can have a look at my T8 on Saturday ;) & I'll answer all your questions mate :cheesy: :cheesy:

as for standard airbox/performance filters go for "ITG" it works for me........

HTH Paul

·
Banned
5,841 Posts
I dont know what type of filter your using but cold air is best, so if you can locate the intake filter near the front bumper or a place that sees the road you could have an improvement.

·
Registered