• Factory / Stock

Votes: 6 11.3%
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey Guys!

I got an unexpected amount of responses to my previous poll on tinted taillights: http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=171913

In the process a few people have suggested to paint the front chrome and I am interested in your opinions on this subject too:)

I have done my best in Photoshop (give me a break as I'm a novice at that) to create 3 possible paint options for the front chrome. Please, do say what you think.

Also, I do need your thoughts on whether to use metallic or mate finish paint for this job.

Thanks, Gene

Option A:

Option B:

Option C:

and the Original just in case:

·
Registered
200 Posts
I was perfectly happy with my 9-5, still am, but you are giving me pause.

My suggestion, paint all of the trim black metalic finish, so the trim looks just like your door handles, mirrors, rest of the car etc... Very cool I have thought about doing it. Would love to see pics when you are done with whatever your choice is.

Good luck

·
Registered
707 Posts
The problem with this sort of question (whether it be grille or wheels) is that it's always presented as see-saw choice between stock (typically chrome or silver) and black.
More nuance please (beyond your 'c' [stock] option). I know it makes for a more complicated job. But God is in the Details!

Case in point: Turbo X. There's a subtle (certainly noticeable) difference between the stock Aero Front (Silver outlining) and the 'Titanium' colour which frames the front of the X. To my mind there's no comparison (unless you've got a Silver Aero). By no means is the scheme on the factory X perfect though (I would have gone a shade darker).

Alternatively, 'All Black' erases the framing completely. I think it's overdone. You lose the detail.

Love to see a photoshop that captures this Other Way.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·