SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new to the Saab community. Just got an 03 aero and have been battling the oil pressure light at hot idle. Been all over the forums and google searching for a cause, and i haven't found someone with a solution. I've seen people clean pickups, change bearings, oil pumps, covers, pressure valves, thermostats...... And still that damn light at idle. In my particular case as soon as the car reaches temperature the light comes on idle 600rpm. A soon as i touch the gas ( 800 rpm ) light is off.
I'm in the middle of rebuilding a 2001 b235e ( which is my other dilema, what is really b235r on a b235e ). But im afraid of starting a rebuilt motor with this oil situation still unresolved. Has anybody successfully sorted this out? I ran into a thread about the balance shaft being replaced and problem solved, but it just doesn't make sense to me.
Plus i think there should be a comprehensive thread stocked on this subject

·
Registered
148 Posts
If your building a new engine that will replace everything that would cause this engine to have low oil pressure. Your oiling system is all internal and a drop of oil pressure at idle could be many things as you have discovered. There is never one real reason for your situation. It could be one of many or several. For instance... As your bearings wear there becomes more of a gap between the bearing surface and the journal. As that gap widens it takes more oil to fill the gap. This also makes it easyer for the oil to escape, causing les back pressure, AKA oil pressure. This can be caused by one realt bad bearing that you would most likely hear or several or all your bearings being slightly warn. The reason your oil pressure light would go away at higher revs is because oil pumps make a surplus of pressure/flow because as the engine revs it requires exponentially more lubrication.