SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first post here so plz excuze if this is in the wrong section. I have an 01 9-3 se Conv. 2.0t. I love it. It has taken me a while to find a legit Saab forum ans I hope I am in the right place. My background is VW's. My issue is an oil leak on the side of the engine. Is this a common prob? Is it just a gasket? Any help would be great. Thx.

Brian-

Attachments

·
Registered
12,355 Posts
Hey, welcome to the forum. The plug that's leaking is where the distrubutor goes on the non-turbo cars. The best way to fix it is to get a valve cover gasket kit, remove the valve cover, clean everything and put back together with the gasket kit. You will probably need to use a gasket adhesive to keep the inner and outer gaskets from falling off the cover while reinstalling it. IIRC, the torque requirement is 11 ft/lb.

What part of Maryland are you from? I grew up in between Annapolis and Baltimore on the west side of the Bay... Ron

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey, welcome to the forum. The plug that's leaking is where the distrubutor goes on the non-turbo cars. The best way to fix it is to get a valve cover gasket kit, remove the valve cover, clean everything and put back together with the gasket kit. You will probably need to use a gasket adhesive to keep the inner and outer gaskets from falling off the cover while reinstalling it. IIRC, the torque requirement is 11 ft/lb.

What part of Maryland are you from? I grew up in between Annapolis and Baltimore on the west side of the Bay... Ron

Hey Ron,

Thanks for the reply. I'm in Rockville btw. Is there a site where i could find the gasket kit where there not ripping me off? and maybe a DIY. Sorry for being a newb but what is IIRC?

·
Registered
12,355 Posts
IIRC = If I Remember Correctly.

eEuroparts.com has some pretty good prices, have free shipping on orders over $50 and ship quickly.