SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm a forum newbie.

I discovered oil in my cooling system, My first thought was a head gasket, so i pulled off the heads (1995 900 se v6) but when i pulled off the heads the gaskets looked perfectly fine, I checked out as much as i could but there is tons of oil in the cooling system.

My question:
Is there another likely location the oil is getting into the cooling system?

Like an idiot i didn't do a compression test before i pulled the heads.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
Honestly no, the head-to-block transition is the only place on a non-turbo car that the two could mix. Did you notice if any of your bolts were looser than others? Since you already went this far, I assume you're going to throw another gasket on it and have the heads machined so my guess would be that this will fix the problem.

As an aside, did you ever add anything to your coolant like "Red Line Water Wetter" or similar products? These look like oil droplets in the coolant as well.

·
Registered
12,355 Posts
Did you just buy the car, or have you had it for a while? Has it ever overheated, or was it missing before you pulled the heads? I'm just trying to get some background information. If you get the heads resurfaced, make sure to get them checked for cracks too... Ron

·
Registered
21,583 Posts

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
V6
Remember V6.
Forget I4, for now.:cheesy:
These beasts use an engine oil cooler immersed in coolant.
Our Ragtopcavalier is very familiar with this design. The newer V6s use a stainless steel unit, I think.
Right you are Earthworm. If I remember correctly this issue has crept up a few times on these as well.

http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108022

http://www.saabscene.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=31646002&mode=linearplus

http://www.justanswer.com/questions/2fbpz-1997-2-5-v6-saab-conv-oil-in-water-help

·
Registered
7 Posts