SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to my saab

where do you fill and drain the engine oil ?

and where do you fill and drain the gear oil ?

is the oil cooler for the gear box or the engine ?

does the turbo use the engine oil ? or no oil (i think mines a liquid cooled turbo ?) its a 90 spg

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
Piccies Please!

Oil Drain plug is a 13mm hex head near the front, to the left.

Transmission drain plug on my '88 is a 12mm internal hex (allen key type) at centre rear, but IIRC yours may not have one.

Oil cooler is for engine.

Turbo is cooled by engine oil and by coolant.

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
use a half inch wrench on the engine oil bolt, it fits a little snugger so there is no risk of rounding it off.

·
Registered
5,677 Posts
yfs87 said:
use a half inch wrench on the engine oil bolt, it fits a little snugger so there is no risk of rounding it off.
And if it starts to round then buy a new bolt to put back on before going any further.

I generally use a socket and breaker bar on mine. Always seem to round off with a spanner.

Sometimes you have to loosen them off with a hammer and chisel if the Previous owner didnt change the oil as much as they hould have done.

·
Registered
16 Posts
My 88 turbo doesn't have a drain for transmission (I think!) Done three oil changes since getting it and only had to top up transmission the first time. I am going to look for that 12mm allen screw now just in case!

The big pain for me is getting the old oil filter off. I pierce it with a screwdriver (the old filter is getting disposed of anyway) and loosen it using the shaft of the screwdriver for leverage before unscrewing by hand - a strap wrench just slips and there isn't enough space for leverage on a wrench anyway.

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
once you get it off just finger tighten it as tight as it will go by hand. thats all it should need and you can avoid this problem in the future.

·