SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few months back I made a post about how my car has two VIN numbers and couldn't program a new steering wheel lock after I got the error message because the Tech would ask both numbers (cars) for security access.

I took it to a guy at a former Saab dealer ship and he said he couldn't figure out the problem, easily at least. He said it was possible with time and of course money which I don't have. His advice was that it was probably a wiring issue somewhere.

I can't find any evidence of tampering in the car from what I've seen/taken apart. I'm seriously stumped at this point. all any Saab 'specialists' tell me is that it's beyond them and they've never seen it before it or that it's a rare issue.

Now, aside from that, I haven't had any major issues aside from parts that have worn and needed to be replaced BUT due to a bit of jumpy-ness at start and a sort of sluggish go between 1-2K RPM I'm thinking of cleaning my throttle body and maybe even replacing it, what concerns me is it doesn't look like ANYTHING can be programmed to my car, a Saab spot tried to program a window switch I replaced and couldn't and now if I need to replace anything else in the car I won't be able to because of some issue I can't find.

I'm absolutely stumped at this point, I've tried 3 different Saab specialists and I'm out of ideas and it's what is keeping me from restoring it, literally.


Has anyone here EVER experienced something like this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
A few months back I made a post about how my car has two VIN numbers and couldn't program a new steering wheel lock after I got the error message because the Tech would ask both numbers (cars) for security access.

I took it to a guy at a former Saab dealer ship and he said he couldn't figure out the problem, easily at least. He said it was possible with time and of course money which I don't have. His advice was that it was probably a wiring issue somewhere.

I can't find any evidence of tampering in the car from what I've seen/taken apart. I'm seriously stumped at this point. all any Saab 'specialists' tell me is that it's beyond them and they've never seen it before it or that it's a rare issue.

Now, aside from that, I haven't had any major issues aside from parts that have worn and needed to be replaced BUT due to a bit of jumpy-ness at start and a sort of sluggish go between 1-2K RPM I'm thinking of cleaning my throttle body and maybe even replacing it, what concerns me is it doesn't look like ANYTHING can be programmed to my car, a Saab spot tried to program a window switch I replaced and couldn't and now if I need to replace anything else in the car I won't be able to because of some issue I can't find.

I'm absolutely stumped at this point, I've tried 3 different Saab specialists and I'm out of ideas and it's what is keeping me from restoring it, literally.


Has anyone here EVER experienced something like this?
Im very surprised that they can't figure it out. Its actually quite simple. What happened was that someone at some point changed a part and did not program that part correctly OR used the vin from the salvage car and basically reprogrammed your entire car to think it has that vin.

Its honestly quite a easy fix with the tech 2. You will just need to reprogram the appropriate computer module (in this case most likely someones changed the CIM, or ICM, OR BDM) and they programmed it with the wrong vin.

They could easily see with the tech 2 which one is messed up.

My theory is that the part was not taken of properly from salvaged car i.e divorced and then basically was entered under your vin but functions under the old vin of salvaged car.

All the dealer has to do is latterly change the vin number in the appropriate computer so steering lock is CIM. Simple as that
 

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's what the first shop tried said, I came to them with my steering wheel lock and when they tried to program it, the two VIN numbers would show, he would select the one that matches my car but then it would ask for the other VIN'S access which He couldn't get because it was from another car.

And you're right, I figured it should be simple, but he couldn't tell me which part it was, he said the same thing "it was divorced and then piggybacked on to the car somehow" his advice was to find a dealer because they have this Tech-II that's above all in some sort of factory sense.

I took it to the second place which led me to taking it to a dealership, the guy said he couldn't program anything either and that it must be a wiring issue somewhere. I'm not sure who I can go to and find the actual improperly programmed part.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
That's what the first shop tried said, I came to them with my steering wheel lock and when they tried to program it, the two VIN numbers would show, he would select the one that matches my car but then it would ask for the other VIN'S access which He couldn't get because it was from another car.

And you're right, I figured it should be simple, but he couldn't tell me which part it was, he said the same thing "it was divorced and then piggybacked on to the car somehow" his advice was to find a dealer because they have this Tech-II that's above all in some sort of factory sense.

I took it to the second place which led me to taking it to a dealership, the guy said he couldn't program anything either and that it must be a wiring issue somewhere. I'm not sure who I can go to and find the actual improperly programmed part.
They can't program it because they don't have full level security access only shop with tech 2 and Iris can program it. Its the CIM module that is coked up. (steering lock is the CIM) the person who took it of and you bought from did not unprogram it.

Regardless in the Tech 2 with security access you can reprogram the entire CIM module. What you would need to do is go to common settings -> Add/Remove modules, Delete the current one i.e remove, then Add the CIM which will ask for all your settings. No more then hours work.
 

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So if I call up a shop I should ask if they have both? I bought the steering wheel lock to remedy the malfunction, are you suggesting the CIM is the culprit and should be programmed properly or the CIM just the issue and should be swapped entirely?


I appreciate the advice by the way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
So if I call up a shop I should ask if they have both? I bought the steering wheel lock to remedy the malfunction, are you suggesting the CIM is the culprit and should be programmed properly or the CIM just the issue and should be swapped entirely?


I appreciate the advice by the way.
The CIM is the steering lock. Its built into that module. Thats why they can't program it. They need to delete it of the system the old CIM and install the New CIM.
 

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
The CIM is the black module behind the steering wheel and the steering wheel lock is at the bottom just above the pedals isn't it? The usual run through of the lock malfunction is that it's the CIM, ignition switch, or Steering lock. Do I find someone who can reprogram the CIM?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
The CIM is the black module behind the steering wheel and the steering wheel lock is at the bottom just above the pedals isn't it? The usual run through of the lock malfunction is that it's the CIM, ignition switch, or Steering lock. Do I find someone who can reprogram the CIM?

Not that I'm aware of. The steering lock is inside the CIM. Behind the steering.

You need to find someone which will be dealer to program the CIM modual yes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
763 Posts
The steering column lock (SCL) is not inside the CIM, its mounted on the steering column, just above the brake pedal. You didnt mention what year you are working with. Later model year 03 (after ~26000), 04 and very early 05 use 12801153 column lock which must be used. Later ones will cause a "CIM too old" response and the "add" will fail. SCL is added under "other components" on Tech 2 with security access required. Ive never seen a "good" SCL not be able to be added.

If there is another component from another car, Tech2 always tells you which component has a wrong VIN and allows you to choose the correct one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,298 Posts
The CIM is the steering lock. Its built into that module. Thats why they can't program it. They need to delete it of the system the old CIM and install the New CIM.
2 totally separate entities. I think someone may have replaced either the ECU or the BCM. chances are it's the BCM the body control module. Because that module doesn't require that much security to add it to the car. Where as the CIM is directly related to the alarm/security system. either way, the part that has the wrong VIN may not have needed security access to be married to the car, and the last owner or shop may have just plugged it in and it worked. Of course they should've divorced the part from the donor vehicle, and married it to your car when it was replaced. My last thought is it could've also been the EHU that was replaced, because most of the bus traffic goes through that module. Try re-adding each module with a Tech 2 till the one with the wrong VIN is pinpointed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
The steering column lock (SCL) is not inside the CIM, its mounted on the steering column, just above the brake pedal. You didnt mention what year you are working with. Later model year 03 (after ~26000), 04 and very early 05 use 12801153 column lock which must be used. Later ones will cause a "CIM too old" response and the "add" will fail. SCL is added under "other components" on Tech 2 with security access required. Ive never seen a "good" SCL not be able to be added.

If there is another component from another car, Tech2 always tells you which component has a wrong VIN and allows you to choose the correct one.
Ah that's why I go the confusion, I though he was dealing with a earlier model. Regardless someone still mucked up some module and got the wrong VIN
 

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
The steering column lock (SCL) is not inside the CIM, its mounted on the steering column, just above the brake pedal. You didnt mention what year you are working with. Later model year 03 (after ~26000), 04 and very early 05 use 12801153 column lock which must be used. Later ones will cause a "CIM too old" response and the "add" will fail. SCL is added under "other components" on Tech 2 with security access required. Ive never seen a "good" SCL not be able to be added.

If there is another component from another car, Tech2 always tells you which component has a wrong VIN and allows you to choose the correct one.
The car is 2004, I remember looking at the Tech II and when he would select the correct VIN, it would just keep asking for security access. everyone said it's beyond them. I had the SCL match numbers with my old one.
 

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
2 totally separate entities. I think someone may have replaced either the ECU or the BCM. chances are it's the BCM the body control module. Because that module doesn't require that much security to add it to the car. Where as the CIM is directly related to the alarm/security system. either way, the part that has the wrong VIN may not have needed security access to be married to the car, and the last owner or shop may have just plugged it in and it worked. Of course they should've divorced the part from the donor vehicle, and married it to your car when it was replaced. My last thought is it could've also been the EHU that was replaced, because most of the bus traffic goes through that module. Try re-adding each module with a Tech 2 till the one with the wrong VIN is pinpointed.
So if I were to take it back to one of the shops I should ask to have them re-add every major Control module to pin point the right one and properly reprogram it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
So if I were to take it back to one of the shops I should ask to have them re-add every major Control module to pin point the right one and properly reprogram it?
Its asking for security access because thats how Saab works when you try to add a module. Its a GM thing. Only dealer or a really high end speacilty shop can do this. Just take it to dealer once the tech 2 is plugged in it will say what module is missing/incorrect.

Then they will program it. I don't see it being more then 1 hour.
 

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
Joined
·
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Its asking for security access because thats how Saab works when you try to add a module. Its a GM thing. Only dealer or a really high end speacilty shop can do this. Just take it to dealer once the tech 2 is plugged in it will say what module is missing/incorrect.

Then they will program it. I don't see it being more then 1 hour.
Yeah I learned that back when I got an Arc, the key needed to be replaced to we had to take it to get programmed.

What I don't get is why so these places have told me it's some weird issue they can't readily fix or AT LEAST diagnose.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
274 Posts
Yeah I learned that back when I got an Arc, the key needed to be replaced to we had to take it to get programmed.

What I don't get is why so these places have told me it's some weird issue they can't readily fix or AT LEAST diagnose.
Because unfortunately alot of the people who have their own Shops to even some Saab dealers were not trained on the new 9-3. The older guys left opened up their own shops and did not really touch anything t8 let alone know about the Irsis system.

The other techs were in line for training but never got it because of bankruptcy. I know lots of Saab master technicians when it comes to the classic Saab or even the NG 900 9-3 and 9-5 they are the best there is out there, but as soon as computers and technology comes around that's where it hits them to a stop.

Happened at the old saab shop I used to work at all the time.

The industry is developing more and more into electrical cars and you would be surprised when the young kids come out of school they can diagnose the new cars much faster then a person with 30+ years experience, but throw a young kid on a classic Saab and he will be scratching his head for hours....

At my current shop we have a fine balance. We have the old timers who know all the old trucks (heavy diesel semi) to a 28 year old mechanic who is the smartest person I have ever met. He is my go to guy when there is some huge electrical glitch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,298 Posts
Its asking for security access because thats how Saab works when you try to add a module. Its a GM thing. Only dealer or a really high end speacilty shop can do this. Just take it to dealer once the tech 2 is plugged in it will say what module is missing/incorrect.

Then they will program it. I don't see it being more then 1 hour.
It's not only a dealer or high end shop that can do it. I can marry/divorce modules with my Tech2 clone easy enough, I get full secuurity access from Tis2000. The op should find a SC member close to him with a Tech2, that way he doesn't get raped at a dealer or shop.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top