SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am looking at purchasing a 1992 Saab 900 SE with a turbo and a convertible. The problem is the gearbox jumps out of first gear unless you hold it there. The lady who is selling the car said this is how it has been for the last 5 years. It has 125,000 miles on the car. Is this a major concern, or is it something I could live with? Again, this is my first time thinking about buying a Saab. Any other buying advice would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
Sadly the gearbox is the weakest point on a Saab 900. Jumping out of gear is a sign of worn components and it will only get worse.

If the car is in otherwise good condition use the problem as a bargaining tool and knock the price down - A LOT.

There are people on this site who know an awful lot more about the 'boxes than me and should be able to steer you towards getting a second han replacement fitted.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
philjohnhb said:
Sadly the gearbox is the weakest point on a Saab 900. Jumping out of gear is a sign of worn components and it will only get worse.

If the car is in otherwise good condition use the problem as a bargaining tool and knock the price down - A LOT.

There are people on this site who know an awful lot more about the 'boxes than me and should be able to steer you towards getting a second han replacement fitted.
Thanks for the reply Philip. They are selling the Saab for 2,000. How much would you recomend to knock off the selling price for the Gearbox? I read somewhere else on the forum that maybe a nylon bushing at the end of the stick could cause this? Is this correct? What is the cost and how hard would it be to replace the gearbox bymyself? I am experinced with working on vehicles and building engines.

·
Registered
3,470 Posts