SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey y'all, been a long time since I've been a regular on this board but my recent purchase has me back! Flew to Nashville to buy a stock 2002 4dr gunmetal grey Viggen about a month ago. It's got 95k miles on it, all original except the wheels, some light rust on suspension components but otherwise in great shape. I've already replaced the DIC and added the GS steering rack brace and 22mm rear ARB, the 6-point brace is going on next. I'm looking to get this bad boy autocross ready in the next couple months to give you an idea of commitment level/willingness to spend $$.

Looking for any advice/suggestions on things I might want to replace or upgrade at this age and mileage. I've been driving my 01' 9-5 for 11 years now, so I feel like I've got a pretty good handle on what needs to be serviced, but figured there might be some hidden issues I'm unaware of. Also curious to hear from anyone with the rear hatch brace... is it worth it?

Wheel Tire Car Automotive side marker light Automotive parking light

Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Sky

Bonus pic next to the 9-5:
Wheel Car Tire Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light

·
Registered
Current: 2000 9-3 Aero 5d, Family: 85 900i 3dr.
1,488 Posts
@TSGriffin Great looking Viggen.
I'd like to say the rear hatch brace will limit the vehicle's functionality, based on what I have seen.
So it looks like you are familiar with the GS brand - so I have a few suggestions.
You might want to look at the custom engine mounts GS stock, and the slotted brake discs front and rear.
GS pedals would also add some bling.
You don't describe your strut set up - so maybe Koni Yellow adjustable would help there.
At 95K miles, there are several key items that are not performance-related - that you need to investigate in due course.
Suspension and associated items like link ends, and sway bar bushes will need to be considered.