SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
starter replacement

Hello. This may be a stupid question, but Ï'm an absolute beginner. I am going to put in a new starter in my 1985 900 T16, and I'm trying to find a used one. Does it have to be from another turbo car, or will any other 900 starter do?
Parts can be hard to come by, and I really need my car fixed before summer. :)

·
Registered
23 Posts
You also can order the right part for your starter. It's possible that only the carbon brushes are worn out.

·
Registered
7,035 Posts
don't get a used one! oil contamination "carbon"-as said above, ect will just mean it will fail soon. i'm sick of climbing under my firebird and replacing these stupid things, although saab doesn't even compare in quality to my american junk, used starters aren't in the best of shape. a refurbished one or a new one isn't too expensive, call around to the autoparts stores or try eeuroparts:cheesy:
{edit}-or the most economical solution could be to park the car always in a situation where it could be pushstrated, unless of course you have an automagic, how i start my stupid firebird most of the time:evil:

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank's for the advice. I think there's a bosch garage close to where I live. Probably a good idea to let them have a look at it. Any good advice on how to get the starter out of the car? Do I have to remove anything else than the turbo ducts (or whatever they are called)?

·
Banned
637 Posts
Starters from ANY saab from 80 to 90 will fit (only the 2.3 l engine ones changed their mountings.)
Starters fail from only a few causes : DeWorn brushes at hi mileages, Rusted Bearing in the front clutch /slider (visible as red dust when viewed) Or from erosion of the internal solenoid contacts.. usually caused by the siezed bearing problem.
Someti=mes the Wiring harness to the solenoid self destructs check it first :)