SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New Saab - Paint ProblemsHi Everyone, I am new to Saab and the forum.
Having carefully selected my next car I went for a new Saab 9-3 Vector Sport 2.0t.

I picked the car up last Saturday afternoon, 2nd July. It is in black with parchment leather and looked superb. :D

However on close inspection I noticed paint blemishes on the bonnet, roof and boot. Then along the flat edges at the top of the doors near the windows.
I wondered if it was the Sureguard treatment which I had been applied but then I saw the same blemish on the windscreen edges and plastic around the windscreen. Obviously I wasn't very happy :cry:

I can only describe it as though something has contaminated the paintwork during transit. The marks look like oil on water, like a grey/blue colour. The only way to remove them is to use a wa/polish with a mild colour restorer - but surely this isn't right on a new car?

It went back to the dealer yesterday to be valeted again but the marks are still there. It looks like they have just wxed it again. The salesmanager now wants the bodyshop manager to look at it.

The car itself is superb but I am really concerned about the paintwork.
Any advice, should I or can I reject the car.
cheers
Help please :confused:

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
Firstly welcome to Sabbcentral - and it's tradition to post a photo of your car (somewher in the top section).
If your not 100% happy with the paintwork, i'd be tempted to reject it. If it was a part that can be unbolted and replaced, that would be OK, but with paint your stuck with it. Speaking from a black 93 owner myself - you really do have to spend a lot of time carefully cleaning the car to keep it looking good (read the detailing section: swirls etc) and it would bug the life out of me noticing the blemishes in the paintwork each time i washed the car.