SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all

I'm still new to the saab thing, so please excuse any ignorance on my part. I have a 2000 Saab 93 conv SE I bought in Feb. The front pads looked worn to me - although I am not having any issues with them. A mechanic I took the car to today confirmed I need new front brake pads as they are down to 4mm. However, he also said that I need new rotors. He showed me that the rotors had a "lip" on them on the outside outer edge, which has formed after the shoes have worn the main "plate" of the rotors. However, this "lip" is really small - I would estimate about 1 to 2 mm max. I do not have any other brake peformance issues - no vibration or pulling, etc. I can't see that my rotors are in any bad shape, I expect that they will wear gradually over time, but they don't look that bad to me. I simply want my pads changed, but am not sure if I am being taken "for a ride" with being told I have change rotors at the same time. The mechanic went as far as saying that "generally, performance european cars need to have their rotors changed at the same time as the pads as they cannot be machined - same for BMW, Mercedes and all those others". He compared them to the rear ones, which have no lip on them. Is a 1-2mm lip a tell-tale sign that new rotors are required? Or is this just a load of old nonsense? Your comments and advice are much appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
10,382 Posts
European cars do tend to use pads that wear down rotors faster, and a lot of people replace the rotors when they replace the pads, but that's not always necessary. The rotors may have a minimum thickness amount cast into them. If so, then some calipers will tell you if you really need to replace them. Still, if the lip is closer to 2mm, then they probably are pretty worn. You might consider some different pad, like ceramics, which don't wear down the rotors like the stock pads do.

·
Registered
365 Posts