SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I am the new (and proud) owner of a 99 SAAB 9-3 Turbo 5spd. I love the car, and I love it even more because i got it for $700 at a charity lot. It is absolutley mint.

Anyway, I am a mechanic and work on all my own cars and i thought scince I have never really worked on SAABs I would post a question here to see if there is any common remedies for my problem.

Currently the car's ABS and Brake warning lights are on. Also the speedometer does not work. I did search this forum for some answers and I read that this can be caused by a faulty ABS sensor in the left rear hub? I also read that it can be bad connections to the ABS module. I have cleaned all connections with no luck. I am hoping its not the ABS module.

I have an OTC Genisys scan-tool with ABS scanning ability, but I lack the proper cable for it. Does anyone know what is a good ABS scanner I can get that will scan this for me? I know they are pricey but if I can find one that does multiple makes I can add it to my toolbox at work.

If anyone has any idea where I should go with this please let me know :D. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
649 Posts
From what I've gathered, ABS module is most likely, and thats probably the best case scenario.

just pop it out and send it off for a rebuild.

I'd like to point you to this thread:

http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1704392

and this one for even more reading:
http://www.saablink.net/forum/showthread.php?t=45912

I sent my ABS controller out, they've already finished with it and its on a UPS truck heading back.
Don't know if it fixed the problem, but the service was great and the ABS module was easy enough to remove. Just needed to more the powersteering resevoire, and a second set of hands to move stuff out of the way.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/SAAB...Accessories?hash=item1c08ce01bb#ht_3912wt_998