SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 378 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tomorrow I will be receiving a Drew Tech Mongoose Pro GM II cable that I purchased from TunerTools.com.;ol;

The primary use for this cable will be to perform SPS programming on my 2007 Yukon XL. However...GM recently approved this cable for use with Tech2Win! And even better yet, GM appears to have released a Saab NAO binary that DOES work in Tech2Win. :D:D:D

To date I have seen almost no discussion of Mongoose/Saab NAO v9.25 Tech2Win on this forum or any others and don't understand why not. I was able to acquire it from another webiste and it works natively with Tech2Win. I did not have to modify the binary at all. :D

That means I should be able to achieve connectivity to my 2007 and 2008 9-3's with the Mongoose and Tech2Win, using the DrewTech drivers and one of the following protocols that the Mongoose supports:

Bus Protocols
  • CAN pins 3-11, 6-14, 12-13
  • Single Wire CAN pin 1
  • J1850VPW / GM Class 2
  • ISO 9141 / KWP pins 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13
  • GM UART
  • ISO22900 Compliant for GM’s Tech2WIN software
This would make a nice alternative to the crappy Tech II's coming out of China. The Mongoose GM II cable is ~ $450 bucks. And it works.:cool:

Having finally given up on my clone Tech II (I fixed it, it worked for a while longer and then finally gave up the ghost :cry:) I am determined to bring a affordable, reliable Tech2 experience to the Saab community.

I will post results after I can confirm it works. For one of my tests I am going to re-add my ECU on the 2007 to update the software to the latest rev to fix my engine drop on hot restart issue. I'm receiving the cable on Friday, but due to being a husband and a father, I can't promise I will have results to share immediately. Might take a few more days.

Anybody else using this combination? Anybody else aware there was a Saab NAO bin from GM for Tech2Win?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
18,815 Posts
Never heard of it but I know many will be intrigued.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It works!

I was finally able to test it out the other day. This is where I got to. I will post screen shots later (at work and don't have access yet).

First thing you need to do with this setup is access the DrewTech Tech2Win driver settings. There is a check box about dropping CAN signals for low-speed CAN. The default is that this box is checked. Uncheck it. Without doing so, you will not be able to access the low speed CAN and will get error messages and various other problems, especially with regards to requesting security access.

Next trick I had to figure out was how to get security access. This proved to be pretty simple...just perform the function as you would on a regular Tech II and use TIS2000!

I tried using the Opel Global TIS V32 security access function but was not able to make it work. I cannot be sure this is due to a setting somewhere or just an incompatability with the car, but TIS2000 works great.

Anybody excited yet? Haha, I'm just giddy over this. Legit, supported hardware and legit, supported software working.

Tech2Win working with a Saab! Fully working! I can't wait until the next time my wife and son are taking a nap so I can sneak off to my car to keep tooling around with this setup.

The next thing I am doing is updating my 2007 9-3 2.0T ECU software to the latest REV because it's currently suffering from the occational hot start idle stumble.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,409 Posts
Have to ask where you got the binary and what version is it? Also does it cost anything?

I am super excited about this as an alternative.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
396 Posts
In for results as well. This seems like a very decent alternative.
Is this thing functionally a direct replacement for the entire Tech2+Candi+USB-RS232 adapters and whatnot?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
531 Posts
$485

This thing is $485 USD! I'd understand they hype if it were cheaper...

For that price you can get Chinese Tech II, 2 Cards, an old Laptop for PCMCIA and still have some money left over for a spare ECU.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
396 Posts
But if you can essentially replace all of the bulky crap that comes with the typical Tech2 with a cable and some software that seems like a win in my book, even at $485.00.

I'm eagerly awaiting some pictures or videos of this thing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Have to ask where you got the binary and what version is it? Also does it cost anything?

I am super excited about this as an alternative.

In order to get started you need two pieces of software. One is Opel GlobalTIS V32 and the other is Tech2Win v2.256. I was able to source both from MHH Auto. I am going to attempt to get both posted in a place where people can access it easier than I did. Both were "free to me". I prefer to think of it as borrowing.

Tech2Win will come with a variety of BINs, including Saab NAO 9.25, so it's included in the bundle, no separate download.

The next trick was getting Opel GlobalTIS V32 activated. Luckily some nice folks on MHH Auto helped me with that. I would LOVE to know where to find one if possible to avoid that problem in the future.

Once you get both installed (I am using XP 32 bit in a Parallels virtual machine on a MacBook Pro circa 2007), you are good to go.

The reason you need Opel GlobalTIS is that it will allow you to refresh the license on Tech2Win. Otherwise that goes kaput and I haven't found another way to "crack" it so to say. By opening Tech2Win and performing a security access operation via Opel GlobalTIS, it will update the license for 1 day and then everything will work.

Obviously I am leaving out the part about having the Mongoose cable and installing the software with that. The one trick I found with the Mongoose was unchecking the box about dropping CAN signals for low speed CAN. Basically you open up the Tech2Win Mongoose Driver Config after install and there will be two check boxes and one of them will be checked. So just uncheck that and you are good to go.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
In for results as well. This seems like a very decent alternative.
Is this thing functionally a direct replacement for the entire Tech2+Candi+USB-RS232 adapters and whatnot?


Well the results are in, I was able to repgrogram my ECU with this set up! I'd say that's a pretty darn good validation, don't you think? ;ol; I also browsed just about every functional menu and test there was and experienced absolutely no problems executing any of them.


This setup IS a functionally direct replacement for the entire Tech2+Candi+USB-RS232 adapters and whatnot. The whole shebang. No more dealing with any of that crap.

The Mongoose is certified to meet the ISO22900 standard that GM uses for Tech2 communications, which is why it can replace the Tech2.


I will caviat one thing at this point, I know this will work with any 2003+ 9-3SS. I am almost nearly sure it will work with 9-5's as well, because I believe the Mongoose can use K-line, which was used in the 9-5's unitl they switched over to GMLAN.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
This thing is $485 USD! I'd understand they hype if it were cheaper...

For that price you can get Chinese Tech II, 2 Cards, an old Laptop for PCMCIA and still have some money left over for a spare ECU.

All it takes is getting burned once on some shytty Chinese clone Tech2 before you consider this setup. I got burned hard by Cathy. Almost $400 for the whole setup (I was one of the early adopters and the prices seem to have come down now), it stopped working about 4-5 times after I used it, I tried sending it back for repairs and it went unclaimed in China and returned to the post office 2 months later ($50). Then I attempted a repair myself, which made the unit work a little longer ($40) and bought a laptop to burn cards ($40) before it took another steaming dump from which I was unable to recover it, so in the trash it went.

So $550 down the drain for me. Ouch. Obviously I wasn't in the mood to roll the dice again, so I went with something that was A) supported B) going to work C) repeatable and D) going to last me. I think I found it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
But if you can essentially replace all of the bulky crap that comes with the typical Tech2 with a cable and some software that seems like a win in my book, even at $485.00.

I'm eagerly awaiting some pictures or videos of this thing.
gnavs I'm sorry I haven't posted pictures yet. I went to post some last night and my son (who is 1 and teething like an sob) shut down that plan in a jiffy by screaming bloody murder at me until I held him and read him a book. I am going to try again at some point this week.

I will take a few screen shots of Tech2Win and the Saab card up and running and snap a few pictures with my iPhone of the hardware and it doing it's thing. The hardware part is boring...a cable plugged into the OBDII port, plugged into a beat up laptop running Parallels and XP, and when it's communicating with the car a little red light lights up on the cable....o0o0o0 magical! haha
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
353 Posts
First kid? My first is 2 months, so I get where you are coming from. My free moments too are when everyone is asleep and I can only check out the forum at the office.

Thanks for checking this out and any additional info would be awesome. (Personally I'd like to know about any required subscription or licencing costs.)

The way I look at it for $500, its still likely cheaper than me going to the dealer to get a new key programmed, the comfort close enabled, DRL shut off, any updates installed, etc. Let alone the advanced diagnostics should I need to research an issue with the car.

gnavs I'm sorry I haven't posted pictures yet. I went to post some last night and my son (who is 1 and teething like an sob) shut down that plan in a jiffy by screaming bloody murder at me until I held him and read him a book. I am going to try again at some point this week.

I will take a few screen shots of Tech2Win and the Saab card up and running and snap a few pictures with my iPhone of the hardware and it doing it's thing. The hardware part is boring...a cable plugged into the OBDII port, plugged into a beat up laptop running Parallels and XP, and when it's communicating with the car a little red light lights up on the cable....o0o0o0 magical! haha
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
First kid? My first is 2 months, so I get where you are coming from. My free moments too are when everyone is asleep and I can only check out the forum at the office.

Thanks for checking this out and any additional info would be awesome. (Personally I'd like to know about any required subscription or licencing costs.)

The way I look at it for $500, its still likely cheaper than me going to the dealer to get a new key programmed, the comfort close enabled, DRL shut off, any updates installed, etc. Let alone the advanced diagnostics should I need to research an issue with the car.
iamamused no problem :) I too am only able to contribute to the forum from work due to time constaints. Make sure you spend time with your son and enjoy every moment, next thing you know he will be a toddler and you will wonder what happened to your baby!

As for required subscription, there is none. You just need to get Tech2Win v2.256 and Opel GlobalTIS v32 and get GlobalTIS activated. It's specifically v32 that you want, not v36. Later versions lost the ability to grant security access and other features that you need in order to refresh the license on Tech2Win. You will also need TIS2000 for security access.

One of the next experiments I am going to perform is to clone the virtual machine and try to co-locate/co-install Opel GlobalTIS and Saab GlobalTIS on the same box. That would solve one of the problems I am having, which is that I need to get security access through TIS2000 still, which means that newer Saabs won't work properly. The Saab NAO 9.25 BIN goes all the way up to 2012, so I just need to get Saab GlobalTIS talking to it.

I think it may be possible to just change the ports at installation so that they don't conflict with the other install and BAM! You are done. The other option I am looking at is an emulator that allows for remote serial connections. That way I could access Saab GlobalTIS from another box and grant security access that way. I might also be able to do SPS programming via Tech2 remote mode, all through the emulator! There is a lot more to play around with, so I will continue to play around and post as I make progress.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
396 Posts
gnavs I'm sorry I haven't posted pictures yet. I went to post some last night and my son (who is 1 and teething like an sob) shut down that plan in a jiffy by screaming bloody murder at me until I held him and read him a book. I am going to try again at some point this week.

I will take a few screen shots of Tech2Win and the Saab card up and running and snap a few pictures with my iPhone of the hardware and it doing it's thing. The hardware part is boring...a cable plugged into the OBDII port, plugged into a beat up laptop running Parallels and XP, and when it's communicating with the car a little red light lights up on the cable....o0o0o0 magical! haha
No worries at all. Life tends to take priority :cheesy:

This really is sounding like a great alternative, I'm all for simplicity.
;ol;
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,837 Posts
TX SAAB thanks for all this information.

I started research the cable and could not figure out what software I needed etc.... I stumbled on the GM Delco site and it looked like i could rent the software for very high prices.

I am glad you cleared all that up.

I hope it works on a 95 and will be watching this thread to see how you get the bugs ironed out.

I am no closer to pulling the trigger on either solution, but this and the tech 2 posts are great information on this journey.

I maintain 3 95 Aeros for our family so I am very very interested.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
TX SAAB thanks for all this information.

I started research the cable and could not figure out what software I needed etc.... I stumbled on the GM Delco site and it looked like i could rent the software for very high prices.

I am glad you cleared all that up.

I hope it works on a 95 and will be watching this thread to see how you get the bugs ironed out.

I am no closer to pulling the trigger on either solution, but this and the tech 2 posts are great information on this journey.

I maintain 3 95 Aeros for our family so I am very very interested.
dlague You wouldn't happen to know anybody in the San Antonio area with a 9-5 that we can experiment on? I personally don't have a 9-5 to try.

Does anybody know what year they moved to GMLAN in the 9-5? I was trying to compare the K-line setup to GLMAN and it looks like the Mongoose MAY support operations on that pinout. One diagram on the DrewTech website says no, but the literature says yes. The CAN high speed and low speed pinouts are identical between all years I believe.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
If I can get a new legit mdi from a dealer for 1k or this for 485, which would be better? I should mention I have a Pontiac g8 08 and a 2012 Denali hd. I also would have to help my father on an 05 Silverado and my old 95 t/a.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
If I can get a new legit mdi from a dealer for 1k or this for 485, which would be better? I should mention I have a Pontiac g8 08 and a 2012 Denali hd. I also would have to help my father on an 05 Silverado and my old 95 t/a.
I would probably suggest the MDI if I were in your position and wanted to part ways with $1000 for a legit unit. There is 0 questions of backwards compatibility for older models with an MDI. I however could not source a legit unit for less than $1200-$1500 and I refused to get scammed on eBay being sold an MDI advertised as "real" and find out later it's a clone.

Here is DrewTech's document for vehicle compatibility for the Mongoose. You will see that certain vehicles and certain subsystems aren't compatible because of various reasons. http://www.drewtech.com/reference/T2WCoverage.pdf.

I'm not a shop, so I didn't care about this limitation, and all 3 of my vehicles are GMLAN, so I didn't need an MDI. Plus I didn't have $1000 to drop on the real thing :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
61 Posts
this is all frustrating readingcoming from a hackors perspective,

my thinking is why doesnt somone just build an emulator engine for tech devices then load the software for each individual during usage?
 
1 - 20 of 378 Posts
About this Discussion
377 Replies
67 Participants
zoohoo
SaabCentral Forums
SaabCentral forum the most comprehensive Saab resource on the internet. Join our discussions on the Saab 9-3, Saab 9-5, Saab 900, Saab 9000 and all other Saab models, choose your forum.
Full Forum Listing
Top